Two Finished Objects!

I had two days off this weekend. Yes, that’s right: two days off. IN A ROW. It was awesome.

I knit a lot. Also slept a lot.

And my mother came over and cleaned my kitchen. And ate tacos.

Did I mention it was awesome?

This is where my knitting leaves when it is not strewn around the apartment. After taking this picture, I felt like I had too much out, and I put away four hand-dyed rovings, and a pile of worsted-weight wool. It looks exactly the same.

I also finished not one but two projects.

Project Number One:

Noro Scarf!

Noro-licous.

 

Work the camera, baby (I just personified my scarf. I’ve gone off the deep end. Add into that the fact that I hate using “baby” as a term of endearment. I need some caffeine)

 

I love the colors next to one another.

 

The redux? Three skeins of Noro Kureyon in #182. One giant center-pull ball, two ends, stripes, a US8 circ, and 39 stitches of 1×1 rib per row. First and last stitch of every second row slipped for a nice, even, clean, pretty, colorful edge.

Project Number Two:

Lacy Ribbed Bolero!

When I saw this lacy shrug on 10 Feet High last week, I knew I had to knit it. I guess it helped that I have more cotton/acrylic blend yarn than someone who doesn’t really like cotton/acrylic yarn should have (at least three sweaters worth – all projects I never began or quickly ripped out).

I immediately cast on. One and a half skeins of old school Candy Blue Cotton-Ease, two days commuting, and one Saturday… and I was done. I calculated that I need to cast on 110 stitches. I worked the SSKs as K2TOG because I HATE how my SSKs look.

I knit until it looked big enough, cast off, seamed it, and I was done.

Dan was at work, so I had fun with the self-timer.

 

 

 

 

I’m happy with it. If I do it again (which I probably will), I’ll use a smaller needle for the ribbing, as it didn’t hug very much and kept on slipping off (but that’s the cotton, also).

And, on top of all of this! I finished the toe for Dan’s socks, which I’ve been putting off for a week! All in all, a very knitty weekend.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One Response

  1. I love the Noro scarf – it’s neat how the colours seemed to come out so evenly!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

