Super Mario Halloween

Picnik collage

I love making costumes.  I always have.  I don’t get many oppurtunities to make them anymore (post my high school Ren Faire phase and costume designing theatre productions in college).  When Lindsey invited me to her Halloween party, I knew I had to make a great costume!

I went with Princess Peach (nee Toadstool) from Super Mario Brothers.  I went with her “classic” appearance, mostly because I couldn’t find a good pattern that had the little Cinderella style side poofs in her recent appearances.  I was planning to dye my hair strawberry blonde pre party, but ran out of time, and wasn’t too into finding an appropriate wig.

The dress itself is adapted from McCalls’ 4948.  I made the bodice with no overlay, and the short poofy sleeves.  The pattern had two lengths for the skirt, so I cut the large skirt piece apart at the “shortening” line, and cut the lighter pink from the upper portion and the darker pink from the smaller portion, at the bottom.  I also used the dark pink as the band on the sleeve, and sewed a sash to wear as well.

I know the colors aren’t exact – there aren’t many fabric stores near me, and I ended up ordering the fabric online, and my budget and fabric choices limited my color choices.  I found a nice heavy polyester satin that was really reasonable, and these were the best color interpretations that I could do.

The gloves were purchased from Amazon.  The radish is sewn out of felt.  The crown and brooch are felt, with needle felted details!  Lindsey made me Princess Peach inspired dangly felted earrings!

Crafty Princess Peach!
All the accessories, ready to go!

And what’s Princess Peach without Mario?

It's a Me - Mario!

Dan’s costume consisted of purchase overalls, a red shirt he already owned, purchased gloves, and a purchased hat (all from Amazon.com).  I made the little felt logo for his hat, and he found the little mushroom full of candy, to offer people “one-up mints.”

7 Responses

  1. OK, that? Is totally awesome.

  2. Best. Costume. Ever.

    And Dan’s is great, too!!! You guys are the cutest!

  3. It’s-a me, Mario!

  4. Having matching Mario just makes it.

  5. AMAZING! You’re so adorable!!

  6. OMG I LOVE IT!!!!!

  7. Excellent site, keep up the good work, my colleagues would love this. I read many blogs daily, and for the most part the authors lack substance, but not in this case. I just wanted to make a short comment to say I’m glad I found your blog, I’m gonna bookmark this chartreuseluna.wordpress.com web site. Thanks

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

