One pile of yarn is just like another.

After an evening of swatching into the early morning, and a post awakening measurements and a bit of calculations: Rogue in that merino was just not meant to be.

Samus, knit on US8s, has a gauge of 4.75 sts/inch. And I don't even like how loose that fabric feels. I tend to like a bit of a denser knit, I suppose. I looked up the ball-band gauge of the yarn on Elann – and it's 4.5 sts/inch. On the reccomended needle size of US9s-10s.

Huh. I had never even contemplated going that large with the needles. I don't think I'm going to go up a needle size and swatch – I don't really like the look of the fabric on the US8s, and I wanted the Rogue sweater to be a little tougher, and wear well. And super-soft merino on US9s or 10s is not going to cut it, I think.

After contemplation, I think I will abbandon one pile of yarn for another.

Rosedale
This was my first sweater. Oh, Rosedale. How I loved thee.

Why did I rip it apart? Why do I seem to have this pattern of destroying sweaters I seemingly love?

Well, it was a little too small. Also, I could never get the edges not to roll. And I didn't want to put in a zipper. So what did I do? Rip.

I'm going to make it into Rosedale United. Yes, the same sweater. But a pullover. I've never knit a pullover before. I ripped this sweater apart last year – and I think I'll actually start doing something with it, and not just sigh and stare at it. The best part? Since it's the base of the same raglan, I can use the same sleeves!

Rosedale
I already started. I forgot how much I love Kureyon! This is colorway 88.

Sock progress? Ah,not much.  If I want to finish this sock up by Monday evening, I better get knitting!


Didn't do much on the Jaywalkers today. Here they are, waiting for the train home with me. That green knit thing is my iPod in its cozy.

Leave a Reply

