Jaywalkers: done.

The rumors are true – I actually finished a pair of something. I am notorious for starting projects that require a pair of something (gloves, wristwarmers, socks, sleeves, anything on Noah’s Ark), and never, ever finishing the second one. So the fact that I knit both of these socks – in just over two weeks! – is very impressive. At least I impress myself.

You can see the crazy pooling, and how it differentiated on each sock. Overall, I’m happy with the yarn choice and the pattern, but I do have a bit of trouble getting the sock over my heel – but I think that is simply my cast-on being tight.


Ignore the messy table-top. And uhm, the un-grafted toe.

Pattern: Jaywalkers, by Grumperina.
Yarn: KnitPick’s Sock Garden in ‘Daffodill’ on US 2s.
Mods: I picked up an extra stitch or two when picking up the stitches for the gusset, and then decreased an extra stitch or two along the way – typical for avoiding gaps for me. I learned how to do a short-row heel after I had finished the first sock, otherwise I may have subbed it in.


It was touch and go for awhile – but it was quiet at work, so I was almost there!

It’s my weekend (I have off on Tuesday and Wednesday), so I have a few days to find a new sock pattern for my next commuting project. I’ll be using this yarn, which I bought from Storyteller’s Yarn.

Yarn
Any pattern suggestions?

One Response

  1. found your blog through the flickr sock group. I love your jaywalkers. I have the same colorway and am trying to figure out the perfect pattern for it.

    I love the storyteller yarn – very nice! Have you tried any of the socks from Interweave knits magazine? I love the socks from Evelyn A. Clark, especially Retro Rib Socks.

    Best of luck with your sock knitting!

Leave a Reply

