FO: Rosedale!


This is my ‘modeling a wool-sweater when it is 95+ degrees outside’ pensive look

Pattern: Rosedale United
Yarn: Noro Kureyon #88 (greens/oranges/purple) – I think I purchased 13-15 skeins, but I really don’t remember now. I had some bits left over, but it was mostly in getting the stripes to match up [which I didn’t always do when I did Rosedale originally].
Size: XL
Needles: US8 Clover Bamboo circ (I think it was 32″) and US8 Bamboo DPNS
Changes: I had tried to put in a ribbed collar instead of the rolled brim, but it just didn’t look right, so I ripped it out and went back to the rolled brim. I hate the intarsia square that is on the back of the sweater – the color that happened to come up with the yarn is ugly, my tension is bad, and I wish I had just left it out. I’m hoping some blocking will even it out.

Notes: As you may or may not remember, this is the second time I’ve knit this sweater. The first time was my first sweater, and it was Rosedale not united, a cardigan version of the same sweater. I wore it infrequently, and decided to rip it out and start again. Because the base of both sweaters is the same raglan, I didn’t need to re-knit the sleeves, which made this a fast project. Careful mattress stitching of the broken intarsia triangle really looks the same as my mediocre intarsia (which has gotten a lot better since the last time I knit the sweater). I love Kureyon, and I have a feeling this is going to be a well-worn, warm sweater this winter. I love this pattern – it’s easy, but has some details that make it interesting (like waist shaping [I LOVE THE WAIST SHAPING], intarsia, etc), and I love how it knits up in the Kureyon.

Also, it fits me really well.


One more picture. I love this sweater!

« »

One Response

  1. Wow. That’s crazy but I love it. Neat twist to an otherwise basic sweater.

Leave a Reply

