Woah.

It’s been awhile, hasn’t it?

I don’t really know what happened. I’ve been knitting (holidays are coming up, you know), but I sort of lost track of time. Is it really almost December?

I did finish something yesterday, and though I posted it in all of my other blogs, this is the knitting blog, so it should have a part too. Those of you who love me enough to actually read all my sites – well, I love you too, and I’m sorry that you have to see this again.

Pattern: Aibhlinn, a cowl from Knitty
Yarn: Grandma’s Blessing by Briar Rose Fibers
Needle: US6 24″ circs
Modifications: I used a lighter weight yarn and a smaller needle than called for in the pattern, but still cast on the same number of stitches. I’m happy with the circumfrence. I also made it about 16″ long instead of 24″ in the pattern. I’m still happy with the result.


It matches my blazer really well. That’s cause everything I own is green. I have a green problem. The color is pretty true in these pictures.

When I went to the New York Sheep and Wool Festival, I fell in love with some yarn from Briar Rose Fibers. It was the first place that we went to, and I wanted everything in the tent. I picked up a skein of ‘Grandma’s Blessing,’ a sport-weight merino superwash in beautiful blues and greens and a bit of orange.

I took a break from my holiday knitting to make Aibhlinn from Winter 2004 Knitty with it. I thought it would be a great way to show off the color of the yarn, as well as take advantage of the yarn’s softness and weight.

I made a few modifications, and it took me about a week of commuter knitting. We’re having nice mid-50 degree weather (really odd for November), so I got to wear it today with my blazer. It kept the wind off my neck nicely.

I think the swirling rib really shows off the yarn well, and it was fun to knit as well. I almost left the bobbles off, but left them on, and I’m happy I did. I think they’re fun. Even though I’m not a big bobble person.

I also really like that the pattern used is completely reversible. Which is nice in a piece like this, because it doesn’t always stay exactly on the right side.

2 Responses

  1. Very pretty! I have a green problem too…well, green and blue. Almost everything I own is green or blue. Oh well.

  2. Hey! Nice job on the beautiful cowl!
    Chris from Briar Rose Fibers

Leave a Reply

