Mmm.. Boston yarn.

I spent a day in Boston with my best friend before she and her fiance ran away to Paris to frolic in the Louvre and eat a lot of cheese. Or something like that.

We woke up at 9.30, and were on the T and in Harvard Square before we knew it. After a delicious Indian buffet lunch and detour to Urban Outfitters to buy a scarf and six kinds of lipbalm (it was cold!) in Harvard Square. I can’t remember exactly where we went next, but the street we walked down had a yarn shop, and it was fabulous.

It had more yarn than I have ever seen in a yarn shop in my life – both stuff you’d see in a typical LYS and stuff you’d see in a craft store. But, like, everything – like six different greens of Lion-Brand Wool-Ease Chunky. Lindsey and I walked around and kept on touching yarns. She would sometimes admire a yarn, and by looking at it, I’d know the fiber content, brand of yarn, and fun-fact about it. It kind of disturbs me how much I know about yarn.

Haul from the morning.

I walked out spending less than a $100.

Three skeins of Kureyon (Color #182, a cool neo-rainbow that I’ll probably make a scarf with. Or a felted bag. Or try out entrelac). Two skeins of that light green wool, which I promptly lost the band of. One skein of single-ply wool self-striping yarn (promptly lost that ball-band too! I’m such a loser). One skein of Handmaiden Sea-Silk. Oh my am I in love with this yarn.

 

Just look at it. I’ll wait.

 

The colors are beautiful, it’s so soft, and it has these crazy anti-inflamatory properties or something, that just kind of boil down to that touching the yarn actually moisturizes and protects your skein. Cool! It was a total impulse buy – they put it right by the register. Some people buy a pack of gum or a chocolate bar on their way out of the store – I buy silk.

 

 

Ready to go home.

 

In other news, I’ve learned how to spin since I last posted. Ooh – more fiber hobbies.

 

In more crafty news, I’ve also learned how to crochet! I’m working on a granny square afghan for previously-mentioned Paris-frolicking best friend and fiance.

 

What else am I working on? Oh, a lot. A mini-sweater for my boss. A little felted bag out of Paton’s SWS. A aran sweater for the boyfriend. A mistak-rib scarf for my step-father.

 

Bulky Mini-Cardi FO

What have I completed? The Bulky Mini-Sweater from Stefanie Japel’s Fitted Knits (awesome book, by the way). My own mini-sweater, out of some beautiful green hand-dyed yarn I got at Rhinebeck last year.

 

So yes. Lots of knitterly and fibery and yarny activities going on. It’s very nice.

 

One Response

  1. […] may remember when I had a bit of yarn blow-out in Boston a few months ago. This Noro Kureyon [Colorway #182] was from that. Inspired by the beautiful Noro Striped Scarves I […]

Leave a Reply

