Skein = Back = Ball

Random “I want to knit this!” moment
I never really wanted to stop playing dress up, and I’ve always loved costumes and such. Which probably explains why I want to knit this princess hat from Vickie Howell’s “New Knits on the Block” book so much. Oh! A felted princess hat! How cool is that! I’ll never wear it anywhere, but it makes me wish I was still seven years old.

Dan’s Aran
I’ve almost finished the back of Dan’s Aran. It looks like it is going to take a little more than a skein of Cascade Eco+. This yarn is kind of awesome. It’s 478 yards of wonderful two-ply wool goodness. 478 yards in a skein! The entire sweater is going to take four skeins, I think (I could have called it close with three, but I think that four will be safe).

Dan's Aran: A skein = a back = a ball

Foot [well, he walked into the picture, is more like it] and DVD included for scale. This is three skeins of the yarn – one is still in the hank, one is knit into the back of the sweater, and one is balled up and ready to go.

Oh, and ignore the color and the cabling in that photo – I had to use a flash, and it the photo doesn’t do the sweater justice.  It’s really coming out well.

Leave a Reply

