FO: Handspun Headband, or Sad Orphan Handspun.

I recently started spinning. Because I’m new at it, and like to ply my yarn, this leaves me with a lot of orphan skeins. Very pretty, slightly bulky, less than 100 yard skeins.

DSCN1911

One of my favorite Etsy shops is FatCatKnits. I love to buy roving on Etsy ’cause I get beautiful, hand-dyed stuff there. As much as I try to branch out, I keep on going back to FatCatKnits. I love her color choices, the saturation, and the roving itself. For some reason, colors that I wouldn’t normally choose talk to me (like, right now, I was going there so I could link it to you, and now all I want is this lovely roving called “Wide Western Sky.” It’s blue and red and brown. Have you ever seen me knit anything that didn’t have at least a little green in it? Crazy!). Anyway, I spend far too much money there, and keep on buying roving from her (Oh! But this one wants to come live with me too!).

DSCN1912

Anyway, I spun up this lovely and squooshable roving called “Cobblestones” (again, not my typical colors!). I tried my best to maintain a nice even tension, and a consistent weight (I was looking to ply it into a heavy worsted weight, so I was aiming for something around DK, I think?), but it was one of my first times spinning on my wheel and before I got the double treadle (which lets me spin much more slowly), so it’s much more of a DK to a bulky weight slubby single plied together. There are a few strands that are just perfect, but overall it’s a kind of bulky lumpy “designer yarn,” as all of the beginning spinning books and websites call it.

Close-up of Handspun Headband
Color not accurate (but oh that texture!)

I’ve gotten a bit better – I overspun this a little too much in the thinner portions, and I don’t think I knew how to properly prepare my roving, either. Anyway.

I decided to make it into a hat. I cast on 80 sts on my trusty US11s, and started with a good inch or so of 2×2 ribbing.

And then I realized I was not going to have nearly enough for a hat.

Close-up of Handspun Headband

I worked about an inch in plain old stockinette, then switched back to the ribbing. I cast off loosely, wove in the ends, and I had a super warm, super stylish, handspun by me ear-warmer/headband.

Handspun Headband

I’ll put it away till the winter, where it might be given away for the holidays, or it might take up residence on my head.

Handspun Handknit Headband
Some people get home from work and relax a little. I take pictures of myself wear wool items in 85 degree weather.






5 Responses

  1. Very pretty! I love the yarn – I have a hard time spinning something like this anymore – but I should try and make up some of these – great presents!

    • I expect the massive issue will come the day that turnkey robot drivers are cheaper than human drivers. There are something like 4M prosefsional drivers in the US; mostly truck, some taxi and bus.Once the statistics are weighty enough to show that robot truck drivers are (at that time) safer as well as cheaper, those jobs are gone.

    • Electroforeza hemoglobinei costa exact 30 lei. Putin de tot fata de alte cheltuieli pe care le are o femeie insarcinata sau inainte de sarcina. Mi se pare grozav ca promovezi grija fata de copii, cea dinainte de a-i concepe. E la fel de importanta ca si cea de dupa!

  2. I’m sorry – I snickered at the caption on the last picture. It looks very pretty and I am sure will be wonderful when the decent weather rolls around again. I hate the heat – I’d gladly move to northern Iceland.

  3. OH no, you can’t give that away–it looks too great on you!

Leave a Reply

