FO: Calorimetry & Scarf and the magic of entrelac

Finished Objects

I bought two skeins of super soft, very cuddly, worsted Malabrigo a few weeks ago, and decided that it needed to be a scarf. It’s a lovely semi-solid in a bright green – they call it Lettuce. I call it love. I cast on about 25 or so stitches on my favorite scarf needles (US8 16″ bamboo circs), and 1×1 ribbed it till I had used up all of one skein. I took a break there, and, with the second skein and US6s, I knit up a Calorimetry (from the Winter 06 Knitty). Then I reattached the remainder of the skein to the scarf, and knit till there was no yarn left. The results? A super soft, luxurious scarf, with a good amount of length and a matching headband.

Isn’t that button neat? I got it at M&J Trimmings last winter, when my winter coat had lost all of its buttons. I didn’t find any that I liked for the coat, but I picked up some for future use.

 

For a variety of reasons (you’ve seen 1×1 ribbed scarves before, you’ve seen Calorimetries before, I was wearing pajamas, the sun was down, and it was 90+ degrees outside), I don’t have modeled shots of these. I do have some lovely close-ups. For fun.

I don’t know if I quite captured how soft this scarf is. Think clouds. Think kittens.

Entrelac + self-striping yarn = magic

 

This is following the Knitty pattern “Danica,” but it’s just basic entrelac, which looks a whole lot more complicated than it is.

 

 

 

I have plans to use four skeins of Noro Kureyon for this scarf – two of two different colorways, striped throughout. So after I finish this skein (of 164, isn’t it pretty? it’s supposed to include some cream/gold in there, but this skein didn’t have any. boo!), I’m going to knit with a skein of 180, then a skein of 164, then finish with the 180. I’m already into the 180 (after I took these pictures), and the colors just… meld together. It’s kind of cool. The 180 has gold and wine and maroon and purple and aqua in it.

7 Responses

  1. mmm that green is Love to me, too! nice closeups… I think you can definitely see some of the kitten cloudiness 🙂

    I love the 164 colorway! Someday I am buying a big batch of it 🙂

  2. i love that button! that scarf will turn out great. i’m looking forward to seeing all the colors combined.

  3. What an awesome button! That’s such a neat detail to have.

  4. I love your scarf. It is going to be so pretty when finished. I have not yet tried entrelac. It looks too involved. I will attempt it one of these days though because the finished look is way to pretty.

  5. I like that Malabrigo colour – but that button makes the calorimetry spectacular!

  6. If your artclies are always this helpful, “I’ll be back.”

Leave a Reply

