Emerald Progress.

I’ve made it to my favorite part of a seamless raglan sweater – the giant row of doom!

Hello, bad-dye job.

 

Usually, I knit both sleeves first, so when I get to this point at the body, both sleeves are already ready to go. I don’t know why I veered away from that this time. I had worked about six inches of the body before I took a break and started the first sleeve. I finished it at the beach last week, and went back to the body. Now that the body and the first sleeve are attached… well, it’s sleeve #2 time.

 

I dyed this yarn myself – it’s Cascade Eco-Wool, which is nice because it has some massive yardage, so I was able to get through almost the entire body of the cardigan with one skein. One skein! I dyed four skeins of this yarn, and each one is a little different. Not too good for a sweater – and working from alternating skeins was too much of a pain in the ass for me.

 

(The pipecleaner is holding the underarm stitches of the sleeve)

 

In that picture, you can see the three different skeins – the sleeve is one, the bottom body is one, and the top body is one. I dyed this all at the same time, but since it was such a massive amount of yarn in a not large enough pot, they didn’t take the dye evenly.

 

The fourth skein? Like the one I used for the body, but a little darker and a little splotchier. Every skein is different. Every skein is a suprise.

 

I’ll have to see how it looks when I’m done, but I have the feeling I’ll be over-dying the entire sweater when I’m done. Eek.

 

3 Responses

  1. I was going to suggest re-dyeing the whole sweater when done, but you have already thought ofthat. I like this part of the sweater, too – because you know there are only a few more days until it is done.

  2. if the sleeves are similar- it might look on purpose, but you probably won’t like it anyway.

  3. I saw yours on Ravelry and had to comment. I like it a lot! Do you think it would be difficult to omit the cable and eyelets at the sleeves? I think that’s what I’d like to do on mine…

Leave a Reply

