I’ve been alternating between knitting crazily on my sweater, hoping to get it done in time for Rhinebeck, and being COMPLETELY obsessed with the new Zelda game for my Nintendo DS.  If you are a Zelda fan and you have a DS, and you are not currently playing this game, please do so, because it’s amazing.  Oh, also I have to go to work, eat, and sleep occasionally.

But this is a knitting blog.  And I’m going to write a post without pictures (I KNOW! I can’t believe it either!).  I need to get some Holiday Knitting organization down, and wanted to update everyone on the Cascade Yoke Sweater.

 Holiday Knitting.

Here it is: the big list of people I am knitting for this year.  Can I do it?  We’ll see.   If you think you might be on the list, well.  Look away.

  • Jenn, Michelle, & Andy (step-siblings – hats, perhaps?)
  • Barry (step-father – cabled sweater vest from Men in Knits)
  • Dan (boyfriend – Malabrigo Harry Potter Scarf)
  • Lindsey (best friend – I’m not listing the project because I know she reads this!)
  • Ten dishcloths for Dan’s family
  • Scarf for Ravelry Scarf Exchange

In addition to that, I have a scarf for Dan’s great aunt and an afghan for my mom I need to finish from LAST year.  Oops.  And Dan’s birthday is January 8, and I’d like to have his sweater done by then.

I think I’m in over my head.

Cascade Yoke Sweater.

[To have an idea about what I’m talking about without pictures, please read this entry first.]

I’m into the first of three decrease rows at the yoke of the sweater – about five inches into the eleven inches of the yoke.   I was having some trouble with my initial color choices – they had a very similar value.  Because of this, the fair-isle work wasn’t showing up.  I was ok with the subtley of it, but then I missed a row and I decided to rip back to the beginning.  After a morning of research, I finally found another simple yoke pattern that I thought would work well with my sweater – the border design from the Moorish Patterned Pullover from Interweave Knits Winter 2003.

I took that pattern, and used one of the four colors I had picked out – the blue (or darker green for any men reading this – did you know that men usually see teal as a green while women see it as a blue?  It’s kind of cool).  It is still a very similar value to the charcoal grey of the main color, but I think it works well.  PLUS, since it is a heather, the green I used for the inside of the hem is mixed into the blue I used in the yoke pattern.

If I hunker down, I might be able to finish the yoke tomorrow… and take pictures, too!

3 Responses

  1. That is quit a list of holiday knitting!

    I love the colors and the idea of those yoke sweaters. I’m really looking forward to seeing yours.

  2. That teal/green thing? Explains so many circular conversations I’ve had.

  3. YOU CAN DO IT! But didn’t you give dan’s family dishclothes last year and your step siblings hats last year? I’m super excited about Barry’s sweater! How far along are you on your mom’s afghan? It’s so pretty! SO exciting! I didn’t list your gift either! We’re so sneaky!

    I’m so excited about your sweater! The new pattern seems harder!

Leave a Reply

