FO: Cascade Yoke Sweater.

It’s finished. It fits. It’s wonderful.

The entire sweater blocking.
Please excuse my rumpled sheets.

It is an Elizabeth Zimmerman style seamless yoke sweater, made to my gauge and shape according to directions found in “Knitting Without Tears.” The pattern is from the Moorish Patterned Pullover from the Winter 2003 Interweave Knits – it’s the border pattern. I used less than one skein of the teal and the light green, and about five of the charcoal.

Cascade Yoke

It has waist shaping and a little bit of bust shaping in the form of short rows. The sleeves and the bottom are hemmed, have a picot edge, and a contrasting color on the non-public side.

Hem detail!

The collar is 1×1 rib on US4 needles (the rest of the sweater was knit on US7s), with some extra shaping at the back, according to EZ’s directions. The sleeves are three quarter, because I am always hot and because it was faster.

Close up of the Yoke detail

I started planning this sweater on Sept 21 – I starting knitting it the moment the yarn arrived, around the end of Septemeber. So a little more than two weeks to a sweater! That’s absolutely my fastest sweater ever.

My single regret: I’ve lost a bit of weight over the past month, and I wish I had made it about two inches smaller around.  It fits me really well know, with about an inch of ease.  A little bit of negative ease wouldn’t have killed me, the sweater would still fit well, and I’d be able to wear it longer, as my weight continues to drop  Oh, well.

All of these pictures were taken during the blocking process – I’ll have some modeled photos when I wear it to Rhinebeck this weekend!

13 Responses

  1. It’s beautiful.

  2. Gorgeous! Now we need a pic of you in it!

  3. That’s beautiful!

  4. It’s sooo gorgeous!!

  5. Oh my goodness, the sweater is gorgeous! I love the detailing. I daresay if I ever get up the nerve to knit a sweater, I would probably do plain, boring stockinette in all one color, which would make it easier when I had to frog the whole thing 🙂

  6. Gorgeous! Congrats on finishing…

  7. It’s just gorgeous! What a fast knitter you are.

  8. That’s amazing. Gorgeous. I love the design detail.

    So fast!

  9. What a pretty sweater. I’ve never seen a handknit sweater with a contrasting color inside– how do you do that?

  10. Your sweater is so lovely. I have been wanting to make a EZ sweater for a while now, so I was very excited to see how well yours came out. I am most inspired!

  11. That’s beautiful! The stranded yoke is gorgeous and it looks great on you. Love the picot edgings. As you continue to lose weight, you could eventually steek it and make it into a cardigan.

  12. Yay! Gotta love EZ. She’s so amazing. 🙂 And Becca’s got a good idea there! Make sure to share if you do steek!

  13. I’m so glad I found your blog! That sweater is beautiful and inspiring, and I was just deciding today that my next project will be an attempt at an EZ percentage system sweater. I can’t wait to get home and pull our my Knitting Without Tears book 🙂 !

Leave a Reply

