Hair Dye: 1, Jessie: 0

I’ve been dying my hair shades of red for years. Some have looked better than others, but I’ve never really had a problem with the dye looking un-natural – in fact, people I’ve met since I starting dying my hair consistently think that it’s my natural hair color most of the time.

That is, until last night.

The good thing about having a lot of hand-knit hats...
my shot

All I can say is, thank goodness for my large selection of hand-knit hats. The ends of my hair, though a little redder than I’d like, aren’t the problem – but my roots? Clown hair red. Scary red.

[Pssst… here’s the Ravelry info for this hat, which I don’t think ever got a proper post on this blog… it’s my basic hat recipe, with some corrugated ribbing thrown in at the bottom and this Celtic chart, knit once up and then once down. The light green yarn is Cascade 220, and the darker one is some Paton’s Classic Merino Natural Marl I dyed with Wilton Cake Colors. I love it, and I adore knitting hats – one of my favorite projects – but I’m not a big hat person, so…]

I’ll fix it tonight, but till then…

I asked Dan to take a picture...
Dan’s shot. Though it’s the most true to color. And my giggling.

PS: Dan’s Aran?  The huge sweater I’ve been working on since April?  I finished the second sleeve.  IN TWO DAYS.  It took my three months to knit the first one.  All that’s left?  Seaming and finishing and blocking.  I MIGHT actually get this done by Christmas, and I’m really excited.

5 Responses

  1. It’s funny because before I read the post I saw the pictures and my first thought was “Omg, I love her hair!” I’ve ALWAYS wanted red hair, specifically dark red hair, like this exact color. Unfortunately it would look awful with my skin tone. But it looks so great on you!

  2. now, tell the truth…that’s only one of my pictures…there were several that looked great and one showed none of that hair.

  3. The hat looks great – and I have done that with my hair before as well. I was an artificial auburn until 3 years ago when I let my hair go in preparation for incipient baby-making. I was surprised that my real colour is a very dark auburn/brown on its own (I had not had natural haircolour since I was 15).

  4. i’m jealous of your knitting discipline! i wish i was more productive and had your knitting skills!

  5. Thanks for sharing the info. I found the details very helpful.

Leave a Reply

