Did you finish your holiday knitting?

I did.

I tried to keep it simple, and didn’t knit for that many people.

One of the gifts has not been given yet, so it shall remain a mystery for the time being.


The Holiday Gift pile at my parents!

My major project was the sweater vest for my stepfather. I did most of the knitting and finishing in about a week, then life got a little crazy – I started a new job, I traveled for said job, I fell deeply in love with my cabled sweater project [which, by the by, is looking good! It’s worked top down and I just cast on for the underarm stitches, woohoo!].

So soon it became the day before our holiday celebrations and I still had to pick up the stitches for the button bands and sew on the buttons (beautiful antiqued wooden buttons I had picked up at Pins and Needles in Princeton on that morning.)

Button Close-Up.

I knit and knit and marked and sewed and blocked and wrapped.

And it worked!

Finished Vest

Pattern: Classic Camel Vest from Men in Knits by Tara Jon Manning

Size: Medium (worked at a tighter gauge to achieve a small)

Needles: Us6 for 5.5 spi, instead of 5 specified in the pattern

Yarn: Filatura Laranota Chaco, good ol’ 4-ply worsted wool, in a tweedy hunter green (about three skeins)

Mods: None!

Began: End of November, 29 or 30.

Finished: December 22.

And it fits. Woohoo!

The one funny thing I did was to place the button-hold on the top button a little too high. I didn’t realize this till after I had knit the button-holes. That’s why it is unbuttoned in the pictures.

Button/Cable Close-up.

I also knit my grandmother a scarf for her birthday, which is on Christmas. I finished it up on Christmas Eve, tasseled and blocked and wove in ends and wrapped it before going to sleep. Just in the nick of time.

Grandma's Scarf

Pattern: Shifting Sands by Grumperina

Needles: U8s

Yarn: Two skeins of squishy soft Malabrigo Worsted in Pearl Grey.

Mods: 37 sts across instead of 50 for a worsted-weight version. I slipped the first and last stitch of every right side row instead of the last stitch of every row for my own aesthetic tastes. A little bit of fun with tassels.

Grandma's Scarf

It’s squishy, warm, soft, and lovely. I love Malabrigo, and the pattern was just perfect for the texture and subtle color of the yarn.

3 Responses

  1. Whoa, that malabrigo scarf is stunning!

  2. TAG!
    Link to your tagger and post these rules on your blog
    2-Share 7 facts about yourself on your blog, some random, some weird
    3-Tag 7 people at the end of your post by leaving their names as well as links to their blogs
    4- Let them know they are TAGGED by leaving a comment on their blogs

  3. The malabrigo scarf is just beautiful. And the vest is very nice too!

Leave a Reply

