Chicago Yarn.

On my last day in Chicago, I had some non-training time, so I went out to find yarn.

I visited Loopy Yarns. They had a really great selection – not only a wide array of yarns, but plenty of colors and fibers and textures, too. They had the new Manos Silk/Wool Blend, and I spent a good ten minutes just standing by it, petting it and trying to decide if I wanted to purchase a sweaters worth. It’s DK weight, and I’ve had my eye on the Gathered Pullover from the Winter IK 2007. I wanted a beautiful yarn, with great texture and primarily wool. I thought the pullover would show off a semi-solid hand-dyed yarn beautiful, like Lorna’s Laces or Socks That Rock. The Manos Silk/Wool came in a wonderful acid green, and it took all of my control not to grab ten skeins and let that be it.

In the end, I decided to get a few skeins of a few different yarns. This worked for me for a few reasons: it’ll let me try yarns I’ve never used before, and wouldn’t necessarily want to purchase online, and I didn’t want to check my luggage, and ten skeins of Manos, no matter how beautiful, might be the difference between carry-on and checking.

So I said goodbye, and found a few other yarny friends to come home with me.

Two skeins of Misti Alpaca Chunky in a deep pink color. So soft and a lovely color.

Two skeins of Mirasol Sulka, a worsted mostly Merino with a little silk and alpaca blend. It’s a single ply, and has a great texture – very shiny, because of the silk, and wonderfully soft, because of the alpaca and merino. It also has a great heathered look.

 

Three skeins of Needful Yarns Joy, a self-striping single-ply wool with a lot of loft and very fun colors. I read that it felts like crazy, too.

 

One skein of Berroco Ultra Silk in a periwinkle color. This was kind of a whim – they had a cable swatch knit up and I just loved the drape of it. I don’t exactly know what it will become. It’s a tubular construction, which is neat.

I had to spend a good twenty minutes at the airport shoving it into my suitcase, but we (the yarn and I, that is) made it home safe and sound.

3 Responses

  1. SO FUN! I love the tubular ultra silk!! Maybe we should go to Salem on Sunday and visit the yarn store!

  2. I’m in!

  3. I saw the new Manos this week and I had the same hard time not buying a huge bunch of it. Love the yarn you did buy – very nice – especially the Mirasol Sulka.

Leave a Reply

