Scarf Exchange: Received! and Evangeline

You may remember that I took part in the Ravelry Scarf Exchange. The deadline to have the scarf mailed out was December 1 – and then the New Year came and went, and I had not heard from my pal or received a scarf.

In mid-January, I was assigned a wonderful angel in KnitMongrel form. And I received my package from her last week!

Waiting to be torn open!

Ravelry Scarf Exchange Scarf Package Opened!
Hurray for swap angels!

Inside was this beautiful multi-directional scarf made from Noro Kureyon. She enclosed the extra yarn as well, as well as some very good chocolate coins and a very cute Lantern Moon ladybug tape measure!

Thank you again, Alyssa, for not only sending me a hand knit beautiful scarf, but also for making this exchange for me! You’re all kinds of awesome.

Ravelry Scarf Exchange Scarf!
Still dazed from the commute

I recently finished a pair of fingerless cabled mitts, too. They’re knit in amazingly soft worsted Malabrigo, and I followed the pattern, Evangeline pretty closely (aside from doing an afterthought thumb, like the one outlined in Fetching, instead of casting off and casting back on mid row). Love them. Wish they were for me and I could wear them forever.

Because I’ve seen Nanny McPhee one too many times, but the name Evangeline always makes me think of that movie. And that makes me think of the wonderful green velvet frock coat that Colin Firth wears. I want one!

These were a satisfying and quick knit. I knit the second one in about a day (hurray for three day weekends!). The cable is fun and interested. If I was making them again, I would add 2 to 4 extra stitches to the circumference, as they are a little tight higher up on the arm, as well as add a few extra stitches to the thumb (which I knit as an afterthought thumb, instead of binding off and casting on stitches). Some blocking will help that, though.

2 Responses

  1. Oh, I love LOVE those Evangelines! I have somegorgeous green Rio De La Plata merino (like malabrigo, but 3 ply) that I am dying to make into these!

  2. Very nice scarf – and nice that you had an angel come through for you. Love the Evangelines!

Leave a Reply

