A sad day for knitting.

I decided to knit the Icarus shawl after searching through a bunch of old Interweave Knits issues.  Since I cast off on the Swallowtail shawl, I really wanted to knit another shawl.  I had tried to start Ene’s Scarf from Scarf Style while I was traveling last week, but casting on 375 stitches? Not something I enjoy doing.  I really like the pattern where you start off with a handful of stitches, and slowly increase, creating the shape of the triangle.

Icarus seemed perfect.  The mostly stockinette portion is really pretty in the subtle hand-dyed solid of Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Sock.  The yarn over column will block out really well in the wool, and it’s a fun knit – pretty easy to memorize with a nice result.

I had plans to relax and make some progress on it this weekend.  That is, until I woke up on Saturday morning.  Dan told me he had something to tell me.

I had left the shawl on the floor, near the coffee table.  This got covered by the blanket that was on the couch.  Which Dan stepped on when crossing the room on Saturday morning.

Oops.

So now Dan’s buying me a new needle, but I don’t have any long, sharp, wooden US7s that aren’t currently in use.  So I had to put it aside.   And cast on a new project.

This is the Kiri shawl (free PDF here) knit in Reflections at Roclan worsted wool on US10.5s.  The fabric is dense and airy, the yarn has a ton of spring to it and, though you can’t see it in the pictures, has a lovely hand-dyed variation from light to dark teal.  I have two skeins, which I think will be more than enough for a wrap.  I really like the feel of heavy lace, of these delicate patterns worked in a larger yarn and on a larger needle.  And they knit up fast!

And thank you for all of your comments on the Swallowtail shawl.  I can’t tell you how happy I am with it.  And it seems to have sparked this new lace passion as well!  I have plans to knit another one, because I just love that lily of the valley border (nupps and all).

2 Responses

  1. That’s totally something a cat would do! But with his teeth! How sad!

  2. Oh no needle death! At least it looks like you didn’t loose stitches!

Leave a Reply

