Hello out there.

Life has been nuts.

I mean, the good nuts, not the tear out your hair nuts.

My Celebrant business is getting off the ground.  Lindsey and Ben got MARRIED.  I’m finally done with my training for my day job, which means that I won’t be traveling anytime soon (I went to Orlando twice in three weeks for training).  Those are all very good things.

Shetland Triangle, Pre-Blocking

In the midst of getting to this calmer, more serene place, past the good crazy, there hasn’t been much time for knitting.

Shetland Triangle, Pre-Blocking

I finally cast off for a shawl project I’ve had on the needles for a few months – The Shetland Triangle, by Evelyn A. Clark in Wrap Style.  I bought the book simply for this shawl – I love Clark’s simple triangle shawl designs.  I need to get my hands on a copy of the Flower Basket Shawl – I think that’s my next plan (I have the issues of IK that it’s in, but I can’t find it anywhere).

Shetland Triangle, Pre-Blocking

I used Manos Silk/Wool blend, a DK weight yarn, and a US9 needle, larger than what was called for in the pattern.  I used a total of 4 skeins, for a nice, big shawl – I’ve decided I like my shawls large.  I’ll see how it looks once it blocks out.

In life/knitting news, I’ve been actually wearing my other two shawls!

On the way to graduation...
Kiri at my Celebrant graduation.

DSC_0183
With the beautiful bride (and Kiri)

DSC_0229
Lindsey and I on the move (I like my shawls larger so I can easily wrap it around my shoulders, tuck it under my arms, and tie it in the back – easily stays on, looks beautiful, and doesn’t cover up my dress)

Jeannie & Tom's Wedding.
Swallowtail shawl while performing a wedding.

Lindsey & Ben’s wedding ceremony was an amazing experience – and it had handknitting, too! Lindsey knit a shrug and matching purse to wear – but it was nearly 100 degrees, so she didn’t wear the shrug. She also knit her handfasting cord with the extra yarn! I helped her finish it the evening before the wedding.

Handfasting

4 Responses

  1. The shawls look so beautiful on you! Especially the Kiri, I love that color!

  2. Beautiful shawls!

  3. Oh, I really love your idea about tying the shawl in the back! What a great idea! Kiri and the Shetland Triangle are both gorgeous. I like that you did the shetland in a heavier yarn with a bigger needle, can’t wait to see it blocked!

  4. I love that you where your shawls. It gives me the hope that I too can wear shawls! I mean- would actually wear them, you know? We look so pretty in the first picture, but the second picture- where am I pointing?

Leave a Reply

