Bullet-Proof Garter Stitch

What seems like miles of garter stitch is actually only six inches.

Beginning of the February Lady Sweater

It feels like so much more than that.

This is the start of the February Lady Sweater, a loving and wonderful adaptation of EZ’s classic February Baby Sweater. It made its internet debut while I was in Massachusetts for the wedding, but I made its acquaintance when I came back to the blog-world, and introduced Lindsey when she got back from Hawaii.

We’re both knitting it.

In the same yarn.

Back at Rhinebeck 2007, we each bought a full bag of worsted wool from The Little Barn – Filatura Lana Chaco, I think it’s called. Great colors, nice plie, and CHEAP. Lindsey has a soft buttery yellow – I have a peacock teal. You might recognize it as the yarn that was once almost a cabled pullover inspired by Indigirl’s Charisma cable pullover.

Yes, almost. I ripped it out. It was a little sad. A little. All of those lovely cables!

Now that you’re done cringing, I’m really happy with my progress on the FLS so far. I’m knitting the large on US8s, and though it’s getting a little crowded on my 32″ circ, it’ll be OK once I get past the yoke.

Beginning of the February Lady Sweater

Because I’m crazy, and need everything to be bulletproof and dense, I’m double stranding the yarn for the garter yoke – I always find garter stitch stretches like crazy, and whenever I ripped back with a single strand, I felt like every single mistake could be seen. So this yoke is tough. Nice and dense, with a good hand, but quite rigid. And squishy. If that’s possible.

I’ve done 17 of the 30 or so increases in this top down raglan. This is my least favorite part – I like to knit my sweaters from the top up because once you get to the yoke? You decrease! It practically flies by! By top down raglans.. each row gets longer and longer and longer…

Thanks for the comments on my Shetland Triangle. I have yet to block it. It sits on the couch, mocking me. I have to weave in the ends before I block it, and that just seems so daunting.. especially when there’s garter stitch to be knit.

4 Responses

  1. Ooh, I want to make one too, but I have so many other projects planned before that. I can’t wait to see how yours turns out.

  2. That sweater is on my queue – can’t wait to see how yours turns out!

  3. I can’t believe you’re doubling up for the garter stitch! My sweater is going well- 2 inches! I’m definitely going to have to work a lot this weekend to catch up with you!

  4. I’m knitting this too in Dream in Color Classy! I just swatched and am ready to dive in while on vacation this week! I hope mine looks as good as yours!

Leave a Reply

